The Death of Socrates

Greek Intensives

Agora Foundation Online Intensives - The Ways of the Greeks

Isocrates, the Greek rhetorician, once remarked that what makes one an Athenian is not the blood that runs through one’s veins, but the ideas in one’s mind. How can we access this ancient world, with some aspects so foreign and others so familiar, and discover foundations that changed the trajectory of civilization. This series is developed in four sections: 1) Gods and Epics, 2) Tragedy and Comedy, 3) Plato and Aristotle, 4) History. Attendees will gain a deep understanding of Greek life through some of its greatest authors, and will be better able to see the profound influence the Greeks have had on the entirety of the west and the world. Online seminars in Cohort One will take place on Thursday evenings, 5:30-7:30PM Pacific Time. Cohort Two (if attendance warrants) will take place on Tuesday evenings, 5:30-7:30Pm Pacific Time.

 

All reading materials (in English translation) will be supplied and sessions will be facilitated by tutors experienced in shared inquiry and the Socratic method. Groups will be limited to 12 participants and no prior knowledge is required. Teachers will be offered 3 CEU credits for participation in each section.  

Each Four-Month Weekly Series (Each Section) is $600. 
Community of Lifelong Learners subscribers receive a discount of $100 through a refund. 

Make one $600 payment to join Section Three (subscribers receive a $100 refund)

Make three monthly payments of $200 to join Section Three (subscribers receive a $100 refund)

Upcoming Sections

Section Three: Plato and Aristotle - The Ways of the Greeks 
Begins September 16, 2021 and ends December 16, 2021

Greek Intensive​ - Dates and Curriculum - Section Three - Plato and Aristotle

Session One: Thursday, September 16 - 5:30-7:30PM 

Selections from Pre-Socratics

 

Session Two: Thursday, September 23 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Meno by Plato

 

Session Three: Thursday, September 30 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Symposium by Plato

 

Session Four: Thursday, October 7 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Euthyphro by Plato

 

Session Five: Thursday, October 14 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Crito by Plato

 

Session Six: Thursday, October 21 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Apology by Plato

 

Session Seven: Thursday, October 28 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Phaedo (selections) by Plato

Session Eight: Thursday, November 4 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Physics (selections) by Aristotle

 

Session Nine: Thursday, November 11 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

On the Soul I (selections) by Aristotle

 

Session Ten: Thursday, November 18 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

On the Soul II (selections) by Aristotle

Thanksgiving off

 

Session Eleven: Thursday, December 2 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Metaphysics (selections) by Aristotle

 

Session Twelve: Thursday, December 9 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Ethics I (selections) by Aristotle

 

Session Thirteen: Thursday, December 16 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Ethics II (selections) by Aristotle

Winter 2022 Greek Intensive Sections

Section Four - History

5 Sessions on Herodotus - The Histories

2 Sessions on Xenophon - Hellenika

5 Sessions on Thucydides - The Peloponnesian War 

3 Session on Arrian - The Anabasis and the Indica

Concluding Cultural Session

Completed Sections

Section Two: Tragedy and Comedy - The Ways of the Greeks 
Cohort One - Began March 4, 2021 and ended June 3, 2021
Cohort Two - Began March 9, 2021 and ended June 8, 2021

Greek Intensive​ - Dates and Curriculum - Section Two - Tragedy and Comedy

Cohort One

 

Session One: Thursday, March 4, 2021 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Agamemnon by Aeschylus

 

Session Two: Thursday, March 11 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

The Libation Bearers by Aeschylus

 

Session Three: Thursday, March 18 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

The Eumenides by Aeschylus

 

Session Four: Thursday, March 25 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Prometheus Bound by Aeschylus

 

Session Five: Thursday, April 1 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Oedipus Rex by Sophocles

 

Session Six: Thursday, April 8 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Oedipus at Colonus by Sophocles

 

Session Seven: Thursday, April 15 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Antigone by Sophocles

 

Session Eight: Thursday, April 22 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Medea by Euripides

 

Session Nine: Thursday, April 29 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

The Bacchae by Euripides

 

Session Ten: Thursday, May 6 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Hippolytus by Euripides

 

Session Eleven: Thursday, May 13 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Clouds by Aristophanes

 

Session Twelve: Thursday, May 20 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Frogs by Aristophanes

 

Session Thirteen: Thursday, May 27 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Lysistrata by Aristophanes

 

Session Fourteen: Thursday, June 3 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Poetics by Aristotle

Cohort Two

 

Session One: Tuesday, March 9, 2021 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Agamemnon by Aeschylus

 

Session Two: Tuesday, March 16 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

The Libation Bearers by Aeschylus

 

Session Three: Tuesday, March 23 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

The Eumenides by Aeschylus

 

Session Four: Tuesday, March 30 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Prometheus Bound by Aeschylus

 

Session Five: Tuesday, April 6 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Oedipus Rex by Sophocles

 

Session Six: Tuesday, April 13 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Oedipus at Colonus by Sophocles

 

Session Seven: Tuesday, April 20 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Antigone by Sophocles

 

Session Eight: Tuesday, April 27 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Medea by Euripides

 

Session Nine: Tuesday, May 4 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

The Bacchae by Euripides

 

Session Ten: Tuesday, May 11 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Hippolytus by Euripides

 

Session Eleven: Tuesday, May 18 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Clouds by Aristophanes

 

Session Twelve: Tuesday, May 25 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Frogs by Aristophanes

 

Session Thirteen: Tuesday, June 1 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Lysistrata by Aristophanes

 

Session Fourteen: Tuesday, June 8 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Poetics by Aristotle

Section One: Gods and Epics - The Ways of the Greeks 
Cohort One - Began October 22, 2020 and ended February 25, 2021

Cohort Two - Began October 27, 2020 and ended February 23, 2021

Greek Intensive​ - Dates and Curriculum - Section One - Gods and Epics

Cohort One

 

Session One: Thursday, October 22 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Mythology, Hamilton I

Part One

 

Session Two: Thursday, October 29 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Mythology, Hamilton II

Parts Two and Three

 

Session Three: Thursday, November 5 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 1-4

 

Session Four: Thursday, November 12 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 5-8

 

Session Five: Thursday, November 19 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 9-12

 

No seminar on Thursday, November 26

Thanksgiving Holiday

 

Session Six: Thursday, December 3 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 13-16

 

Session Seven: Thursday, December 10 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 17-20

 

Session Eight: Thursday, December 17 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 21-24

 

No seminar on Thursday, December 24

Holiday Break

 

No seminar on Thursday, December 31

Holiday Break

 

Session Nine: Thursday, January 7, 2021 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 1-4

 

Session Ten: Thursday, January 14 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 5-8

 

Session Eleven: Thursday, January 21 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 9-12

 

Session Twelve: Thursday, January 28 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 13-16

 

Session Thirteen: Thursday, February 4 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 17-20

 

Session Fourteen: Thursday, February 11 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 21-24

 

Session Fifteen: Thursday, February 18 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Simone Weil - Iliad, Poem of Force

 

Session Sixteen: Thursday, February 25 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Cultural Conclusion and Celebration

Cohort Two

 

Session One: Tuesday, October 27 - 5:30-7:30PM PDT

Mythology, Hamilton I

Part One

 

Session Two: Tuesday, November 3 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Mythology, Hamilton II

Parts Two and Three

 

Session Three: Tuesday, November 10 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 1-4

 

Session Four: Tuesday, November 17 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 5-8

 

Session Five: Tuesday, November 24 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 9-12

 

Session Six: Tuesday, December 1 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 13-16

 

Session Seven: Tuesday, December 8 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 17-20

 

Session Eight: Tuesday, December 15 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Iliad (Fagles) Homer 

Books 21-24

 

No seminar on Tuesday, December 22

Holiday Break

 

No seminar on Tuesday, December 29

Holiday Break

 

Session Nine: Tuesday, January 5, 2021 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 1-4

Session Ten: Tuesday, January 12 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 5-8

 

Session Eleven: Tuesday, January 19 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 9-12

 

Session Twelve: Tuesday, January 26 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 13-16

 

Session Thirteen: Tuesday, February 2 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 17-20

 

Session Fourteen: Tuesday, February 9 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

The Odyssey (Fagles) Homer 

Books 21-24

 

Session Fifteen: Tuesday, February 16 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Simone Weil - Iliad, Poem of Force

 

Session Sixteen: Tuesday, February 23 - 5:30-7:30PM PST

Cultural Conclusion and Celebration